As a Tottenham fan, I was willing to accept that Kane was fortunate to get the penalty yesterday as he was in an offside position when the free kick was taken. However, being in an offside position is not an offence, the offence (if applicable) occurs later:
Here are the two relevant extracts from the law:
It is not an offence to be in an offside position.
a player in an offside position is moving towards the ball with the intention of playing the ball and is fouled before playing or attempting to play the ball, or challenging an opponent for the ball, the foul is penalised as it has occurred before the offside offence.
So, even the so called expert referee on BT Sports got it wrong - Case Closed!
and according to the rules, Arsenal's late missed penalty should have been retaken: The Spurs defender was almost level with Aubameyang when the Arsenal forward struck the penalty, meaning that referee Anthony Taylor should have given the Gunners a second chance to take it once it was saved.
According to the Fifa laws of the game, a penalty must be retaken if a defender enters the penalty area and the kick does not result in a goal.